Quick Answer: How many climate zones are in Ontario?

What are the climate zones in Ontario?

What are Hardiness Zones, Gardening Zones, Growing Zones and Plant Zones?

List of Plant Hardiness Zones for Cities and Towns in Ontario.

Location Hardiness Zone
Alexandria Zone 5a: -20°F to -15°F
Alliston Zone 5b: -15°F to -10°F
Almonte Zone 5a: -20°F to -15°F
Amherstburg Zone 7a: 0°F to 5°F

What are the 7 climate zones?

Climate Zones

  • A – Tropical Climates. Tropical moist climates extend north and south from the equator to about 15° to 25° latitude. …
  • B – Dry Climates. …
  • C – Moist Subtropical Mid-Latitude Climates. …
  • D – Moist Continental Mid-Latitude Climates. …
  • E – Polar Climates. …
  • H – Highlands.

How many climate zones are there?

The Earth has three main climate zones: tropical, temperate, and polar. The climate region near the equator with warm air masses is known as tropical. In the tropical zone, the average temperature in the coldest month is 18 °C. This is warmer than the average temperature of the warmest month in the polar zone.

What are the 5 climate regions of Canada?

In the southern, more populated area of Canada, there are five main climatic regions, each transitioning into the other: the East Coast, Great Lakes, Prairie, Cordilleran and West Coast.

IT\'S FUNNING:  You asked: How do you send mail to Canada?

Is Ontario a maritime climate?

Maritime climate conditions are evident in areas near the Great Lakes and the Atlantic Ocean. Frontal [or cyclonic] precipitation occurs all year in the Southeastern climate region. … This region includes Ontario and Quebec also parts of Nova Scotia and New Brunswick.

What type of climate zone is Canada in?

Canada’s Boreal Climate Region

Also known as a subarctic climate, the boreal climate is a climate that is characterized by long, and usually very cold winters; and short summers which tend to be cool and mild.

What are the 8 climate zones?


  • POLAR AND TUNDRA. Polar climates are cold and dry, with long, dark winters. …
  • DESERT. …

What are the 9 climate zones?


Zone To
7 a 5 °F (−15 °C)
b 10 °F (−12.2 °C)
8 a 15 °F (−9.4 °C)
b 20 °F (−6.7 °C)

What are the 6 main climate zones?

There are six main climate regions: tropical rainy, dry, temperate marine, temperate continental, polar, and highlands. The tropics have two types of rainy climates: tropical wet and tropical wet-and- dry.