Is Pembroke Ontario in southern Ontario?

Conveniently situated alongside the scenic Ottawa River in the eastern region of Ontario, Pembroke is serviced by all major overland routes within Renfrew County and is strategically located on Trans-Canada Highway 17. Provincial highways 41 and 60 provide quick access to southern Ontario.

Is Pembroke in northern or southern Ontario?

Pembroke is the location of the administrative headquarters of Renfrew County, though the city itself is politically independent. It is 145 kilometres (90 mi) northwest of Ottawa.

Pembroke, Ontario.

Province Ontario
County Renfrew (independent)
Founded 1828
Established 1856 (Police Village)

Is Pembroke Northern Ontario?

Pembroke is a city in Ontario (nicknamed the heart of the Ottawa Valley) but it is indepedent. It is located 150 km (94 miles) northwest of Ottawa, Ontario, 365 km (220 miles) northwest of Montreal, Quebec and 400 km (250 miles) northwest of Toronto, Ontario. It’s population is 24,017 (according to Cencus).

What is considered southern Ontario?

Southern Ontario is the portion of the Canadian province of Ontario lying south of the French River and Algonquin Park. Depending on the inclusion of the Parry Sound and Muskoka districts, its surface area would cover between 14-15% of the province. It is the southernmost region of Canada.

IT\'S FUNNING:  Is Canada divided into territories?

Which area is southern Ontario?

The North encompasses the territories as well as the northern regions of Newfoundland and Labrador, Quebec, Ontario, Manitoba, Saskatchewan, Alberta, and British Columbia. The South refers to the southern regions of these provinces and includes Prince Edward Island, Nova Scotia and New Brunswick.

Is Brampton southern Ontario?

Brampton (/ˈbræmptən/ or /ˈbræmtən/) is a city in the Canadian province of Ontario. Brampton is a suburban city in the Greater Toronto Area (GTA) and is a lower-tier municipality within Peel Region.

Province Ontario
Region Peel Region
Incorporation 1853 (village)
1873 (town)

Is Mississauga part of southern Ontario?

Mississauga, city, regional municipality of Peel, southeastern Ontario, Canada. It lies at the western end of Lake Ontario, immediately southwest of Toronto.

What areas are considered Northern Ontario?

The Northern Region covers Nipissing, Parry Sound, Manitoulin, Timiskaming, Sudbury, Algoma, Cochrane, Thunder Bay, Rainy River and Kenora.

Is Simcoe Muskoka considered southern Ontario?

Simcoe County is located in the central portion of Southern Ontario, Canada.

What counties are in southern Ontario?


  • Elgin.
  • Essex.
  • Kent.
  • Lambton.
  • Middlesex.
  • Oxford.

What provinces are in southern Canada?

Today the largest cities in Southwestern Ontario, in order of population (2016), are: London, Kitchener, Windsor, Guelph, Cambridge, Waterloo, Brantford, Sarnia, Woodstock, St. Thomas, Leamington, and Stratford.