What cities are included in central Ontario?

The five CMAs, Toronto, Hamilton, Oshawa, Kitchener-Waterloo and St. Catharines-Niagara, and four large CAs – Peterborough, Guelph, Barrie, and Brantford – constitute the major urbanized nodes (urbanized cores) within and through which the entire Central Ontario Zone is organized as a spatial system.

Is Barrie in Central Ontario?

Geography. Barrie is located in the central portion of Southern Ontario, approximately 80 km (50 mi) north of Toronto, 303 km (188 mi) south southeast of Sudbury and 412 km (256 mi) west southwest of Ottawa, within the Greater Golden Horseshoe subregion.

Is Ottawa Central Ontario?

They stretch into the northern portions of Central Ontario, near Algonquin Provincial Park. Ottawa is at the confluence of the Rideau River and Ottawa River. … A small portion of Quebec, Vaudreuil-Soulanges, lies between the Ontario-Quebec border and the river junction.

What are the 13 regions of Ontario?

13 Tourism Regions of Ontario

  • Region 1: Southwest Ontario. …
  • Region 2: Niagara Falls and Wine Country. …
  • Region 3: Hamilton, Halton and Brant. …
  • Region 4: Huron, Perth, Waterloo and Wellington. …
  • Region 5: Greater Toronto Area. …
  • Region 6: York, Durham and Hills of Headwaters.
IT\'S FUNNING:  What government is responsible for highways in Canada?

What are the four regions of Ontario?

Ontario is divided by three of Canada’s seven physiographic regions. These three regions are the Hudson Bay Lowlands, the Canadian Shield and the St. Lawrence Lowlands. Agriculture, as well as most of the population, is concentrated in the south.

Is Peterborough Central Ontario?

Eastern. Eastern Ontario is made up of 113 municipalities and more than 200 communities. Its two million residents are spread over a large rural area as well as several major urban centres, including Ottawa, Cornwall, Kingston and Peterborough.

Is Toronto considered central Ontario?

Definitions. Central Ontario is located within Southern Ontario. … The southern portion of the region is mostly agricultural land mixed with wooded areas, together with the growing cities of Barrie and Peterborough. Both cities serve as regional centres with strong economic ties to the Greater Toronto Area.

Is Toronto Central or Eastern Ontario?

Ontario Canada Current Local Time

Place Time Zone UTC – Offset Standard Time
Etobicoke (Toronto) Eastern Time Zone UTC – 5h
Falconbridge Eastern Time Zone UTC – 5h
Fort Erie Eastern Time Zone UTC – 5h
Fort Frances Central Time Zone UTC – 6h

Where is Central Ontario?

Central Ontario is a secondary region of Southern Ontario in the Canadian province of Ontario that lies between Georgian Bay and the eastern end of Lake Ontario.

Where is Midwestern Ontario?

It is sometimes further divided into “Midwestern Ontario” covering the eastern half of the area and the heart of Southwestern Ontario encompassing the western half of the region.

IT\'S FUNNING:  Do you need a passport to enter Canada by car?

What is central region Ontario?

The Central region of Ontario consists of the economic regions of Muskoka-Kawarthas, Kitchener-Waterloo-Barrie and Hamilton-Niagara Peninsula as defined by Statistics Canada, which includes the Census Metropolitan Areas (CMAs) of St. Catharines-Niagara, Hamilton and Kitchener-Waterloo.

What areas are Southern Ontario?

Some of the most well-known cities of Southern Ontario are Barrie, Guelph, Hamilton, Kingston, Kitchener, London, Peterborough, St. Catharines-Niagara, Waterloo, and Windsor, and largest among them, Toronto and Ottawa.

How many cities are in Ontario?

Ontario has 52 cities, which together had in 2016 a cumulative population of 9,900,179 and average population of 190,388. The most and least populous are Toronto and Dryden, with 2,731,571 and 7,749 residents, respectively.